quote feed-section sponsor-promos cf show linkedin dugout

Berita Tim Utama

Video 1 Galeri

Africa Cup of Nations 2019: Need to know

2019 Africa Cup of Nations: Need to know

Here’s our guide to the 32nd Africa Cup of Nations which begin Friday 21 June... 

Where is the tournament being held?

The host nation is Egypt.  

The venues are: Cairo International Stadium, 30 June Stadium, Al Salam Stadium, Alexandria Stadium, Ismailia Stadium, and Suez Stadium.

The final will be held in Cairo at the International Stadium on July 19. 

READ: Copa America: Need to know

READ; UEFA European Under-21 Championships


Which countries are competing?

There are 24 countries competing, split in six groups of four…

Group A: Egypt, Congo, Uganda, Zimbabwe

Group B: Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi 

Group C: Senegal, Algeria, Tanzania, Kenya 

Group D: Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa, :Namibia

Group E: Tunisia, Mauritania, Mali, Angola

Group F: Cameroon, Ghana, Benin, Guinea-Bissau 


How many City players have been selected?

City will be represented at ACON 2019 by Riyad Mahrez who will captain Algeria.

There are several Premier League players taking part including Crystal Palace winger Wilfried Zaha and Liverpool's Mo Salah, Sadio Mane and Naby Keita.


HOPES OF A NATION: Riyad is a huge star in Algeria


Only the Algeria games are of interest regarding City players with Riyad Mahrez in action as follows: 

When are our players playing?

Only the Algeria games are of interest regarding City players with Riyad Mahrez in action as follows: 

22 June: Algeria v Kenya 10pm BST 

27 June: Senegal v Algeria 8pm BST 

1 July: Tanzania v Algeria 7pm BST


Tournament format

Six group winners, six runners-up and the four best third-place teams will all progress to the Round of 16.

Quarter-finals. semis and a final will follow along with a third place play-off.

Extra time will be played if games are level after 90 minutes and a penalty shoot-out will follow if there is still no winner.

Fixture schedule

Group stages: 21 June 21- 2 July

Round of 16: July 5 to 8

Quarter-finals: July 10 to 11

Semi-finals: July 14

Third-place play-off: July 17

Final: July 19


Where can I watch the games?

Eurosport 1 & 2 will show the games in the UK.

Eurosport Player is available on subscription.